Research Tools: Phrases

Different databases interpret searches differently. A common variation is how databases recognize phrases.

• Some assume that words typed next to each other should be searched as phrases.
• Others automatically put a Boolean AND between your search terms, requiring that all the words be present, but not necessarily adjacent to each other.
• These searches can retrieve very different results.

Know how your database searches, check in the information section of your database

Most databases allow you to specify that adjacent words be searched as phrases.

• Using parentheses or quotes around search words is a common way to do phrase searching, but not all databases or search engines use them.
• Example:  "genetic engineering"
• Hint: It is often very easy to do phrase searching from the Advanced or Guided search in a database.
• You can click a button specifying that you want your words searched as a phrase, as in the example below:

Why should you care about stop words?

• Many databases ignore common words from your search statement.  If included, the database returns far too many results.
• So you know which words to exclude from your search statement.
• To make sure they are included if they are a significant part of your search.
• Many databases recognize common stop words when they are part of the controlled vocabulary of subject headings and descriptors.  Example: balance of payments
• Stop words vary by database. Check the Help screens for a list.

How can you avoid using stop words in your search?

• In some databases, you can use techniques to include stop words as part of the search.
• Some databases use quotes around stop words.  Example: Title keyword= out "of" Africa retrieves title: Out of Africa

• Choose the most significant words that describe your topic and connect them together using Boolean operators or proximity operators.

• Search for your terms in specific fields, such as author, title or subject/descriptor.

Many databases allow you to specify that the words you are searching are within a certain proximity of each other.

• Proximity operators are more specific than Boolean operators and make your search more precise.

Proximity operators also vary by database, but some common ones include:

w# = with

• With specifies that words appear in the order you type them in.
• Substitute the # with a number of words that may appear in between. If no number is given, then it specifies an exact phrase.
• Examples: genetic w engineering (searches the phrase genetic engineering)
• Hillary w2 Clinton (retrieves Hillary Clinton, Hillary Rodham Clinton, etc.)

n# = near

• Near specifies that the words may appear in any order.
• Substitute the # with a number of words that may appear in between.
• Examples: cloning n3 human (retrieves cloning of humans, human cloning etc.)

Consult the database Help screens to find out how to search by phrases or to specify proximity.  You can also Ask Us for advice on searching phrases.