NHS Library: JARP: MLA Style, 8th Ed.

Works Cited List - Citation Format Examples

These are examples of some of the more common citations, but your citation might vary depending on the information available about your resource. When creating your citation use the list of elements 1-9 below.

Book	Hawthorne, Nathaniel. The Scarlet Letter. Bantam Books, 1986.
eBook	Manning, Harriet J. Ashgate. Popular and Folk Music Series: Michael Jackson and the Blackface Mask. Routledge, 2016. ProQuest ebrary, site.ebrary.com/lib/honcclib/ detail.actiondocID=10720887&p00=ashgate+popular+folk+music+series%3A+michael +jackson+blackface+mask. Accessed 23 June 2016.
Newspaper, print	Perez, Rob. "City Pushes to Keep Its Elevated-Rail Plan." Honolulu Advertiser,18 Jan. 2010, pp. B1+.
Newspaper, online	Knopper, Steve. “How Hip-Hop Lost its Group Dynamic.” Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition, 14 Aug. 2015, pp. D1+. Academic Search Complete, hccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu: 2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN= 108888871&site=ehost-live. Accessed 23 June 2016.
Magazine, print	Hitchens, Christopher. "Bring the Pope to Justice." Newsweek, vol. 155, no. 18, 3 May 2010, pp.42-43.
Magazine, online	Samuels, Allison, et al. “Battle for the Soul of Hip-Hop.” Newsweek, vol. 136, no. 15, 9 Oct. 2000, pp. 58-65. Academic Search Complete, hccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu:2048/login?url= http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=3610640&site=ehost- live. Accessed 23 June 2016.
Journal Article, print	Molina, Natalia. "In A Race All Their Own: The Quest to Make Mexicans Ineligible for U.S. Citizenship." Pacific Historical Review, vol. 79, no. 2, May 2010, pp. 167-201.
Journal Article, online	Boyer, Holly, and Aimee Graham. “Hip Hop in the United States.” Reference & User Services Quarterly, vol. 55, no. 3, Spring 2016, pp. 215-218. Academic Search Complete, hccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/ login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=114060504&site=ehost-live. Accessed 23 June 2016.
Video, online	Rhyme Pays: Hip-Hop and the Marketing of Cool. Films Media Group, 2004. Films On Demand, fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=102928&xtid=37478. Accessed 23 June 2016.
Image, online	Micelotta, Frank, photographer. VH1 Hip Hop Honors - Show. Getty Images, 3 Oct. 2004. Encycloaedia Britannica ImageQuest. http://quest.eb.com/search/115_2768747/1/115 _2768747/VH1-Hip-Hop-Honors---Show. Accessed 23 June 2016.
Website	Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), et al. “CDC: Zika Virus.” Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 11 Feb. 2016, www.cdc.gov/zika/. Accessed 2 Aug. 2016.
Note about URLs:	remove the http:// before the URL (MLA Handbook 110) include the date you accessed the source since online materials change or can be removed at any time (MLA Handbook 53)

Works Cited List - Guide Principles

Directions for how to cite using MLA style has changed from the 7th edition to the 8th edition. Please use this new set of guidelines to create your MLA Works Cited list. Refer to the MLA Handbook in the library or the MLA website help page for a detailed explanation.

The new style states that the following elements should be used in the below order for creating a citation for all types of sources. If one of the elements is not available, then move to the next one on the list. For some citations 3-9 will repeat. For example, if you found a journal article in an article database, such as Academic Search Complete. The journal is the first container (steps 3-9) and the database is the second container (repeat steps 3-9). Please refer to the MLA Quick Guide and the MLA 8th Practice Template for further explanation.

Image from:

"Works Cited: A Quick Guide." The MLA Style Center: Writing Resources from the Modern Language
Association. Modern Language Association (MLA), 2016, https://style.mla.org/works-cited-a-quick-guide/.

Works Cited Page Format

The format of the Works Cited page has not changed.

MLA Creating Citation Tools

EasyBib
Generate citations in MLA, APA & Chicago formats for your bibliography. Save hours by making a Works Cited page automatically! MLA7 MLA8 APA Chicago.
OWL - Writing Center at Purdue
Provides helpful guides for writing papers and contains information for creating bibliographies in a variety of disciplines and formats.
ZoteroBib
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.

MLA Help from the Purdue OWL

Need more help understanding how to cite using MLA style? The links below include flash videos/tutorials and useful web sites.

MLA Formatting and Style Guide - Purdue OWL
HCC Librarians recommend this site for its thorough explanations and examples of MLA style. Courtesy of Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL).
Annotated Bibliography Samples
Courtesy of Purdue OWL. Annotation samples in both MLA and APA styles.

In-text Citations (Paranthetical Documentation)

In MLA style you briefly credit sources with parenthetical citations in the text of your paper. Generally, a parenthetical citation includes the author's last name and the page number(s) of the information used: (Smith 127)
For specific examples of parenthetical documentation, refer to the
OWL at Purdue University.

MLA Help from MLA

Works Cited: A Quick Guide
Provides help with learning the new MLA format.
MLA 8th Practice Template
Practice template with examples to help learn the new MLA 8th style guide.
MLA Sample Papers
Formatting an MLA Research Paper
Ask the MLA
Provides citation examples for specific types of sources as well as answers to other MLA style questions.
MLA Style Center
Offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text ... The following overview should help you better understand how to cite sources using MLA .

Need to check your citations? Use the MLA Handbook!

MLA Handbook, 8th Ed. by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: 808 MLA
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.

Check this book out at:

Newburyport High School Library - Call number: 808 MLA

Newburyport Public Library - Call number: REF 808.027 MLA

JARP: MLA Style, 8th Ed.