NHS Library: NHS Library Homepage: Home

GALE DATABASE ACCESS

History Reference Center
Covering both U.S. and world history topics, a full-text database featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents.

Novelist Plus
NoveList is the premier database of reading recommendations, available through libraries around the world. We match the right book with the right person.

Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center is a full-text database that covers earth science, life science, technology, health and other popular topics discussed by today's science community.
THIS Database requires user name and password. Please ask the librarian for it.

Quick Access Database
Check out easy access with this simple and straightforward database.

History Reference Center
Covering both U.S. and world history topics, a full-text database featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents.
Research
Offers a broad range of full text and bibliographic databases designed for research.
Explora Student Research
Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.
Points of View
A full-text database featuring multiple-perspective (pro/con) essays on hundreds of current issues-contains 400 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing).

WORLD CAT
Find what you want in a library near you with WorldCat, a global catalog of library collections.

20 Iconic American Writers
While the United States has produced thousands of talented writers, a few dozen have penned the novels, poems and stories that comprise much of the nation’s literary heritage. Here’s a summary of 20 of America’s most celebrated and influential writers.
American Authors/Timelines/Literary Movements/American Literature Sites
Created by Dr. Donna Campbell, Professor and Vice Chair, Department of English at Washington State University.
Brief of Timeline Literature, Music, and Movies 1900-1909
This page provides a limited sample of the music and films available during the period of the 1600s-1900s The music links here appear courtesy of the sites listed at the bottom of the page; please visit them for more information about the music of this era. Films are listed with their principal star or director. Music files on this page are in RealAudio unless otherwise noted.

Want Help Finding Resources?
Fill out this form and Mrs. Cote or Mrs. Ford will help you seek out the resources you need!

JARP Literature Resource
Find fiction and some nonfiction literary sources that support American History. See Mrs. Cote or Mrs. Ford for help!

Literary Nonfiction Resource List
A list of literary nonfiction titles that are appropriate for a significant literature source. These are also listed by eras they support. Some of these books are in the high school library.

History & Literature Side by Side Topic Selection
List of topics that coincide between the eras of American history and literature.

Gale to Google Integration
Highlight information! Create Notes! Save Articles! This tip sheet will demonstrate how to download documents into Google Drive for future use or reference.